Money’s Worth

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

My job CERTAINLY got it’s money’s worth from me last night.

It was non-stop from the time I got there until the time I left (which was an hour late).

Needless to say, I’m exhausted right now.

Seriously, I can’t believe how busy I was last night.  I didn’t even sit down from 7p to 11p.  All of a sudden I looked at the clock and I was like…whoa!  It can’t be 11p already!

I had the same two needy patients as I had yesterday, and a new needy patient with a worried/anxious mom who stayed the night.

Again, no aide, so I was doing everything.

And I felt very frustrated (to say the least) with my co-workers.  They knew I had the most and the neediest patients and yet offered little to no support. I HATE that.

And just when I was starting to get completely caught up (near 4 am) I had to take an admission!!

Thankfully it was easy, but it still took time.

And then after that, it’s when it all started to go downhill…everyone was ringing at the same time, one of my patients was having difficulty breathing and chest pain, which was being exacerbated with having his mom there…I COULD not calm them down.  Thankfully the doctor came to see the patient and ordered some stuff…but after giving report on all my patients I still had to catch up on all the computer and paperwork.

I just felt awful…you know those times when you start to get frustrated and then one thing after another happens and nothing seems to go right.  That’s how I felt.  And when I felt like I was drowning and not getting any help from my coo-workers, it just made things worse.  I swear…why should I have to ASK someone for help!!  I mean, really.  I can tell if someone is having a rough time with an assignment and always offer help, but the people I was working with last night were CLUELESS!!!!  The only saving grace is that I don’t work with them often.

At least after I gave report I could just focus on the documentation and after 45 mins I was ready to go.  And I made sure to put in for the time…I was running ragged, hardly had a break and I WAS going to get paid for my extra time.

I was thinking about the night all the way home, complained about it sufficiently to Kimm and now I just want to forget about it and go to bed!  So glad I have tonight and tomorrow off.

Published in: on July 4, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/moneys-worth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. There was a time a couple of years ago when I could have written many of the exact words. In a profession full of mostly women who are supposed to be nurturing, compassionate and caring it amazes me how self-absorbed most actually are. Are they oblivious or just lazy? Whatever it is, it is most certainly frustrating. Hopefully it will be a good weekend for both of us!


Leave a Reply

