Vacation #1 2012: Day Eight (MORE basement, Happy Birthday Mom!!, a party?, Friday Favorites #5)

Friday, June 22, 2012

I seriously cannot believe that a FULL EIGHT days have gone by since I last worked…it seems like I just got home from the hospital yesterday.  Why do vacations always go by so fast?

Regardless, it was another busy day.

Spent about 3 1/2 hours in the basement finishing up everything.  Got through pretty much all the areas that I wanted to.  But it doesn’t look like much progress since so much stuff still needs to come out of the basement.  I’ll take pics tomorrow so you can see.  There is the big pile of stuff to go to Saver’s (donation place), another big pile of trash, a bunch of bulk pick up items, a pile of old paint cans that will need to be disposed of, and of course the ratty carpet to pull up.

So…once all of that is done, I’m sure it will look like we did a lot more.

After doing that, we ate a quick lunch and then I took a much-needed shower.  Working in the basement is dusty and dirty!

A quick call to  my mom to wish her a happy birthday 🙂  She was out with my dad, looking at new cars…wouldn’t that be a sweet birthday gift?!  Expensive I’m sure!

We are in the midst of getting some pretty nasty thunderstorms right now so our dog is hiding out under the bed 🙂

If the rain stops, we’ll be heading out for a birthday celebration!

Enjoy my favorites from the web this week…

A favorite blog…I’ve been reading Daily Garnish for a very long time…I love reading about Emily’s family and her culinary creations…she has such an easy writing style and I always look forward to reading her posts!

Favorite news biteJ.C. Penny’s Father’s Day ad that showed the normalcy of two dads 🙂

Favorite funnies!!  No other explanation needed 🙂

Favorite Fourth of July bites…all of these together would make a mighty tasty meal I’m thinking!

...Seven-Layer Bean Dip

Chipolte Black Bean Burgers

Creamy Potato Salad

Texas slaw

Sweet Corn Pudding

Patriotic Cookie Pizza!!

Favorite truth.

Favorite sweat inducing machine…this is the treadmill that I’m hoping to get for the basement!

Favorite smile…I smiled/teared up so many times while viewing this article–21 Pictures That Will Restore Your Faith in Humanity

Favorite chocolate!!  German Chocolate Cake Bars…mmmm!

Favorite INSPIRATIONAL articles…

10 Reminders Worth Reviewing Daily

10 Ways to Change Your Life at any Age

30 Practical Ways to Improve Yourself

Favorite fruit and vegetable combo in dessert form! Pineapple Zucchini Sheet Cake

Favorite visual goal enhancerStar Charts (here used for kids…but so adaptable to anything!)

Favorite breakfast indulgenceCinnamon French Toast Bake

Favorite fruit!  This layered fruit salad looks insanely delicious!!

Favorite thoughts to get the new week off to a great start!

Have a great weekend!!!

 

Published in: on June 22, 2012 at 5:59 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/vacation-1-2012-day-eight-more-basement-happy-birthday-mom-a-party-friday-favorites-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m actually envious of your basement cleaning. I would probably need a good week to get through ours. At this point I think it’s on the to do list for September when my son starts full day kindergarten along with about 50 other things.

    I have made quite a few of Emily’s recipes and they never disappoint.

    There are so many great things in this post. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

