Vacation #1 2012: Day Four (Operation “Basement” Begins)

Monday, June 18, 2012

Another busy day!

Up early for breakfast and then I was soon out the door–grocery shopping.  Since I was out so early, there were less people shopping, and I liked that!  This will probably be our last big trip for the month and I would say that we’ve spent about $160 so far this month.  Not bad at all.  I’m sure we’ll need to pick up some extra stuff like bread, or peanut butter, but for the most part I’ve stuck really well with the budget again this month…feels good.

While I was gone Kimm mowed the lawn–go her!!

While she took a shower, I unpacked all the stuff (love to see a full fridge again!) and then immediately started packing up the car with cans and bottles to be dropped off at the redemption center.  Half hour later (took way longer than I thought to load the car!) we were on our way.

Made $33!!  I was pretty surprised!

And we still have at least the same amount to go back…that’s on the agenda for tomorrow!

I’m so psyched to know that after tomorrow ALL the cans/bottles will be out of the basement.  Makes a huge difference!

That has been on my “to do” list for YEARS!!!!

We were starved for lunch–with all new food it was nice to be able to make something without scrounging around 🙂  Leftovers from the cookout hit the spot–veggie burgers, grilled veggies, potato salad, watermelon and a brownie.

After that I wanted to take a nap, but nope…still had stuff to do!

I took a shower to wake myself up and then started catching up on writing blogs.

And then I decided to make some muffins…an adapted Morning Glory.

I LOVE baking in the new oven…no longer have to worry about adjusting the temp and time 🙂

Based on this recipe…but my own adjustments…

My recipe:

Combine in a large bowl…

2 cups flour

1 cup white sugar

2 tsps baking soda

2 tsps cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

Mix together.

Add in…

2 cups shredded carrots (about three whole carrots)

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

1 can mangos, diced (I had this in my cupboard from Kimm’s mom–needed to use it up and we both don’t like mangos very much but I figured in a muffin we wouldn’t notice the taste too much!)

In a separate bowl, mix…

1/2 cup oil

1/2 cup mango light syrup (from the can)

2 eggs

2 tsps vanilla

Once mixed, add to dry ingredients and mix just until moist.

Spoon into muffin cups…this made 12 VERY generous muffins.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 24 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

These muffins turned out AWESOME!!!  So moist. So much flavor.

Can’t wait to have another one for breakfast!

I made a HUGE sink full of dishes making the muffins and making dinner.  Since we still don’t have any dishwasher soap, I washed everything by hand while Kimm went and showed some houses to her clients.

And now I am catching up on writing old blogs.

By tomorrow hopefully I will be caught up.

Hopefully…since my mom still needs to see the pics of the new appliances 🙂

It’s coming Mom!

Published in: on June 18, 2012 at 9:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/vacation-1-2012-day-four-operation-basement-begins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

