Vacation #1 2012: Day Three (Happy Father’s Day!!)

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Another busy day!!  WHY does it feel like vacation days just FLY by??!!

Up early, breakfast, and I threw in some laundry (actually got two loads done today).

Made brownies to take to Kimm’s parents house for our Father’s Day cookout.

Wrote a few blogs.

Sat on the porch and balanced the checkbook and paid the bills.

Showered.

Had a snack lunch–a few crackers with some cheese, an apple with peanut butter.

Called my dad to wish him a “Happy Father’s Day!”–he was in the middle of enjoying a good cookout meal too!

Headed to the store to pick up some zucchini and yellow squash and a watermelon to take to the cookout.

Finally got to Kimm’s parents and had a good meal–veggie burgers with sautéed onions/tomatoes, potato salad, roasted veggies (marinated in Italian dressing), potato chips and dip, watermelon and brownies!

Watched one of THE most horrible movies that I have seen in a long time 🙂  It was an experience!  I would recommend NOT watching Under Suspicion.

Home and to bed!

Aghhh…three days of my vacation over and I still have SO MUCH I want to accomplish.

I should preface this by saying that every year I like to get SOMETHING done around the house on a vacation.  Other years we have painted…(only three areas of the house remain to be painted–downstairs bath, upstairs spare room and entrance way–but it won’t be done this vacation…but maybe one of my other ones).

Instead these are some of the goals I have for this vacation:

Return all the cans/bottles in the basement (they have been accumulating since we moved in and are hiding in all sorts of places)

Go through all the stuff in the basement and 1) organize what we want to keep, 2) donate what we don’t want to Saver’s, and 3) get rid of big items we don’t want to bulk pick-up

This is so that by the end of the week we can FINALLY order a treadmill for the basement (now that we’ve canceled our gym membership, I REALLY want a treadmill for easy access to walk daily).

Secondary, I would love to accomplish the following, time permitting:

Organize the garage (this is another big one)

Weed around the house

Buy plants for porch

Clean this pile of junk that always sits in the office (either find a place for it or junk it!!)

Go through all my nursing papers and either FILE them or junk them!!! (another big project)

Sounds like a lot, huh?

If I can get the basement stuff done, I’ll feel accomplished.  More, I’ll feel like Superwoman 🙂

Published in: on June 17, 2012 at 11:39 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/06/17/vacation-1-2012-day-3-happy-fathers-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

