Pizza Guinea Pig

Sunday, May 27, 2012

I have been working VERY hard to perfect a homemade, simple pizza dough crust.

I used to just buy the dough at Price Rite (89 cents a pop), but it was always very difficult to stretch into the pan…very springy and thus would make me extremely frustrated when making pizza.  Not how I wanted to feel making something that I really enjoyed eating.

So then I decided to research “non-rising” pizza crusts.

I have tried several versions and STILL have not found what I believe to be the perfect crust.

Most times my complaints are that the dough is flavorless and that it is too dense.

Tonight the flavor was spot on!  Still too dense for me though.  So I will continue to research this aspect.

But for the flavor…to the basic dough (yeast, water, flour, salt, oil), I also added…garlic salt, onion powder, oregano, and Parmesan cheese.  Seriously loved the flavor combo.

I will share my final pizza dough recipe when it is perfected.  I’m beginning to think that I need to let the dough rise in order to avoid the dense dough, but I hate having to wait!!!!

Regardless of the fact that the dough was a little dense, we ate it down.

I always call Kimm my pizza guinea pig 🙂

A great night to relax…computer time, finishing another good book (The Midwive’s Confession), and Weeds!

Published in: on May 27, 2012 at 11:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/pizza-guinea-pig/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

