Weeding Workout

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

So we finally got outside tonight and did some weeding.

I would say we were out for about two hours or so.  We managed to get the area around the mailbox, and the walkway up to the house completely weeded.  We had some majorly deep weeds that required some deep digging and pulling.  And it was HOT out.  We were both dripping sweat within a few minutes.

By the time we were done, we were soaking wet.  And my legs were killing me!  My inner thighs and hamstrings were burning.  It was better than any gym workout!

Now the plan is to get some flowers to plant by the mailbox…I’m thinking marigolds or petunias, or maybe a combination of both?  I’m a bit nervous about this because we’ve never done flowers and with my bee phobia I don’t want to attract any–we have enough flying around the yard as it is.  But I have rarely seen bees by these types of flowers (at least I don’t think I have!) so we’re going to go for it.  I can’t wait to plant them to see what it will look like.

Now that we’ve done some weeding I’m hoping to keep up with it…one night a week, maybe when Kimm is doing the mowing?  Next I have to weed the garden bed so that the garden can be planted.  That will be a task all right.  I wouldn’t mind it so much but it is very near this huge bush in our yard that is covered with flowers that the bees LOVE.  You can hear the buzzing before even getting near it.  All I have to say is that my phobia is really being tested.

After a final look at our weeding success (it IS nice to physically see improvement in how your house looks) and a chat with our neighbor, it was inside for a much needed shower and a drink.  Sitting never felt so good 🙂

Published in: on May 23, 2012 at 11:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/weeding-workout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

