ZERO patients

Monday, May 7, 2012

So last night at work I was in the ED again.

I swear it’s becoming my second home.  Which, wouldn’t be horrible, as long as I got a thorough, proper training.

But that’s all I’m going to say about that.

It was fairly steady from 7p to about midnight and then it really slowed down.

Oh it got so boring.  I checked Facebook.  I read blogs.  I looked up recipes.

One by one the patients left and no one else came.  Finally at a little after 4 am there were NO patients in the ED.  Absolutely none.  I’ve never seen it like that.  EVER.

And it lasted for over a couple of hours.  The next patient came in at 6:45 am.

And five nurses were kept.  Can you believe it?

I know you must have people there in case something happens, but wow.

I was SO ready to go home.  I didn’t want to go home early because I didn’t want to use any time.  So I just sat there and watched the clock tick by.

I need to find a book to purchase on my phone to stay entertained!  I just wish I wasn’t so cheap in not wanting to spend the money on a virtual book!

Now tonight I’ve been canceled for my first four hours.  I doubt I’ll get canceled the remainder because that rarely happens, but I’m still very surprised at how slow things have been at the hospital.

If this keeps up I’ll have to look for something per diem.  I hope it doesn’t come to that.

I have a little bit of time to relax before going in tonight so I’m going to read a bit.

 

 

Published in: on May 7, 2012 at 7:51 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/zero-patients/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You would never know we work in the same hospital. We are full at the moment. Being so removed from the rest of the hospital I didn’t realize the census was so low elsewhere. It seems strange to wish for things to pick up so to speak, but I just hope you won’t have to look for per diem work.

    I’m also very cheap about purchasing books for my iBooks or Kindle Apps on my phone. I am a library girl! I tend not to re-read books so it pains me to spend money on them. There are lots of free options though not usually what I’m in the mood for, but I keep a couple downloaded for times when I just need something to read. I did pay for the China Study because I knew it would take me ages to finish. I’m still working on it.

    Hope you have a good day!!


Leave a Reply

