Floater

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Whew, what a night.  So glad to be home.

I was happy to be canceled for the first four hours, but then majorly disappointed to NOT be canceled the remaining 8 hours!  I don’t know what it is, but going in for 11 pm is so much worse than going in for 7 pm.  I think because at that time I’m ready to climb into my nice warm bed, not leave the house to go work.

Of course when I got to work I found out that they had canceled another nurse.  Grrrr.  And to top it all off, I was floated to the ED.  I got a little upset, even though I really don’t mind going to the ED.  I think I was just super frustrated about being floated in general and not being canceled.

So to the ED it was and things were going fine until then they decided to float me to IMC at 3 am AND give me an admission to take up with me.  What?!

So frustrating to have a new patient when you haven’t even seen your other patients and it’s the middle of the night and I hadn’t gotten a break.

I got through it but it was busy.  I guess that was better for me so I didn’t get so tired!

Snacks for the night: about 1/4 cup granola with whole milk, a spoonful of peanut butter, a package of Fig Newtwons and a small apple juice.

Before leaving for work last night I had 20 pretzels with hummus, a string cheese and 1/4 cup honey roasted peanuts.

I was starving when I left the hospital at 7:30 am.  Ate an apple in the car, a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter when I got home, and then my usual two slices of toast with Country Crock and cinnamon sugar with a cup of coffee.

Now I’m ready for bed…

Published in: on May 3, 2012 at 8:37 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/floater/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh geez Kaye that’s crappy. It does make the night go by faster, but it adds a sense of frustration because you want to provide thorough care for your patients and instead you end up feeling rushed. I’ll never understand so many things when it comes to this profession we work in. I had a doozy of an admission last night. It took the entire shift to complete which is unheard of for me. The last thing the patient said to me was, “Did you get a chance to charge my iPod?” I smiled and said no I did not. Then Sue rescued me and made me leave! I’m off for 3 glorious nights. Hope you have a good rest.

    • I was just re-reading this email Aimee and it totally made me smile 🙂 I especially loved the part, “Did you charge my iPod?” Makes me think of a patient that I had the other night…she was just getting settled into her bed and her first words are, “Do you have tea and toast?” and I’m thinking, “Lady your BP is in the toilet, I have other things to think about besides tea and toast!” Hope you enjoyed your days off!


Leave a Reply

