CODE

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Just as I was getting ready to finish up my “end of shift” stuff before going home today, we had a patient transferred in from another floor and he was doing poorly…so poorly that they eventually ended up calling a code even though there was no CPR performed.  The patient was intubated to protect his airway and given medicine to control his high blood pressure and heart rate.

With me still being there, I did my best to help out.

There were SO MANY people in the room…doctors (probably at least four), anesthesiologists (I think two), nurses (four or five of us), respiratory therapists (I believe three), the supervisor, the secretary…

It was CRAZY.

I quickly learned what they mean when I’ve heard people say, sometimes there are too many people in a code.

I did my best to stay out of the room and just listened outside the room for what people said they needed…I brought blankets to prop up the patient’s head for better positioning for intubation.  I brought needles and syringes to pull up meds.  I pulled meds needed for sedation and paralysis for intubation.  I spiked IV bags and moved furniture out of the room.  I picked up trash off the floor.

I know these are all little things, but I actually felt good doing these little things and watching to see how the code went.

To me it was a lot less stressful than being one of only two or three people who are completely responsible for a person’s life.

I’m glad I had a chance to be a part of this code.

I will be anxious when I return to work to see how this patient did.

I’m hoping for the best.

Published in: on April 18, 2012 at 9:01 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/code-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

