When doctors are proactive in patients care…

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

…it’s AWESOME!!

I had the same patient last night and the docs changed (they change every Monday morning).  I was VERY happily surprised to see that the doctor on was proactive regarding skin care for the patient that I had…the patient had an increased risk for breakdown since he was on vasopressors (to keep the blood pressure up) and therefore the following interventions were implemented:  an air loss bed, head of bed 25 degrees instead of 30 degrees to reduce shearing factors, tube feeding started soon, frequent repositioning and skin checks, and a skin consult by the wound nurse.

Really….wow!

I know this may not seem like a big deal to some people, but the doctors are not always thinking of these things.  This particular doctor did a short seminar last time he was on regarding skin breakdown (which I went to) and I was super impressed that he not only remembered what he talked about (since it was chosen by another nurse, not him) but also implemented some of the articles evidence-based interventions!!  Success!!!  I didn’t even think of some of these things…looks like I’m going to have to up my game!

I really like it when the doctors think like this and work with the nurses for the benefit of the patient!!

But for now, I’m off for three days!!!

Published in: on April 10, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/when-doctors-are-proactive-in-patients-care/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

