Critical Care Nursing Conference: Day One

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Whew!  Made it through the first day of the conference and MANY of my fears were unfounded.

I found the place okay…actually it was fairly easy and I didn’t even get lost going from the garage to the actual building.

I met up with some people from work so I wasn’t alone.

I found a little deli that I was able to order a veggie omelet for lunch (onions, green peppers, tomatoes, American cheese) with a side of hash browns and wheat toast.  Yum.

I have to admit…I did turn the wrong way when I was coming home and ended up driving on the highway the OPPOSITE way of home…but thankfully I knew where I could get off and turn myself around.  I wish I were better with driving and sense of direction, but alas, I was not born to think geography and drive at the same time!

As far as the conference…I have to say, I’m feeling very INSPIRED at the moment 🙂

I really believe that at times we all need to be surrounded by people who share dreams of making things better…and this conference really wants nurses to be ALL THAT THEY CAN BE.

Hopefully I will be able to maintain the excitement and work to get some important, evidence-based research implemented into our ICU and other units.

I am attending all of the sessions that deal with CCRN certification (Critical Care RN–basically a big, hard test like the NCLEX that shows that you are proficient in the information that other critical care nurses know across the country).  It is my intention to take this test sometime within the next year or so.

Today I attended the sessions on Fluids and Electrolytes and two on Cardiac (there is a lot to know in cardiac!)

I feel like my brain is smooshed full of information and I’ll never know everything that I’m supposed to know.

But I also know that I felt that way before taking the NCLEX and I passed that.

I just need to make a study plan and actually stick to it.  I may have to actually leave the house and either go to the library or Barnes and Noble to feel like “THIS IS STUDY TIME.”

I enjoy a good challenge so I’m looking forward to it.

One thing I’m not looking forward to is getting up so early again tomorrow!

Published in: on April 4, 2012 at 9:10 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/critical-care-nursing-conference-day-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad to here Day 1 was a success. Though I don’t miss nursing school I do miss being in school and in a learning environment. I have an appointment at the Elms again next week to discuss one of their graduate programs. I lived at Barnes & Noble during nursing school. My study group would sit there for hours quizzing each other from the nursing books on the second floor. Good times!


Leave a Reply

