Loving Life

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I am just loving life lately 🙂

My first day off and I was motivated enough to make it to the gym tonight for weights and 20 mins on the treadmill and then home for a walk/run with Izzy.  We were walking in twilight and then dark, but it was so calming…I felt like I had no cares in the world!

It was nice to feel that way considering two patients died at work last night.  One was known, a patient who was made comfort care by his family because he was not improving and the prognosis was not good.  I was so glad that I could be there for the patient and the family, but death is so sad.  I cried a little with that one.  And then I was called on a CERT call where a woman I had helped the prior night up on IMC had a very high heart rate that then dropped significantly and then while I was up there she just stopped breathing.  I (as everyone else as well) felt so helpless.  And then there was a code last night as well, for a patient that I had worked with when she initially came into the hospital who had a heart attack and lung cancer.  She was close to dying when I left.  Needless to say, it was a very emotionally draining night.

I just hope when it is my time, I go quickly and peacefully.  I also have to acknowledge that the people I work with are just amazing.  Knowing that we work together to make someone’s last moments of life as easy as possible, for both the person dying and the family that loves that person, makes me feel proud to be a part of something so much bigger than myself.  Whenever I take care of a person who is near death I always think to myself, “what would I want someone to do for me and my family if I were in this situation”.  It helps so much to focus on helping everyone transition through the death process.

Two nights off and then back for the weekend.  Can’t wait to watch some Grey’s Anatomy tonight and just relax with my love.

Tell the people you love that you love them tonight.

Published in: on March 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/loving-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. What an intensely emotional night. Losing a patient never gets easier. Though I don’t experience that so much anymore every now and then we get word that a patient has died and it makes me sad. Nursing is not just a job. So much of our heart and soul goes into a shift. I always leave work feeling incredibly grateful for all that is good in my life.

    I hope you have relaxing nights off.


Leave a Reply

