Lack of Common Courtesy

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

I feel like such an old lady when I have to talk about manners.

But SERIOUSLY!!!!

I know I’ve said it before, but I think a majority of people these days just don’t care about anyone except themselves.  Meaning, they don’t practice common courtesy.

Two examples from tonight, our date night.

First, we went to Olive Garden, where we have gone multiple times before and run into similar situations, so I guess we just have to start finding a different restaurant.  Even though we try to go extra early to avoid multiple people, we are always surrounded by loud, inconsiderate patrons.  Tonight there was one family who brought two very young children with them and I know it is hard to keep children quiet, but WHY do people bring really young children out to eat??  The children either cry or scream or talk very loudly.  I know I probably sound like a mean person when I say this, but when I go out, I want to enjoy myself and part of that is having a quiet, peaceful environment.  We also were seated next to another family where the woman made a call on her cell phone, at the table, in a very loud voice.  I don’t think this is necessary AT ALL.  If you need to make a call or receive a call, take it to the lobby.  Or better yet, don’t use your phone when you are eating.  Or at least be quiet!!!!

Then, next we went to the movies and even though there are hardly any people in the theater, we of course have a young couple who sits kitty corner in back of us who literally whisper and laugh between themselves the ENTIRE movie.

SERIOUSLY??  Stay at home if you want to discuss the movie or your life or whatever you are talking about while a movie is playing.

I cannot make this stuff up people.

Anyways, I don’t mean to complain.  It’s just so frustrating to me.

Can’t people respect the people around them?

Okay, enough of that.

Besides those incidents, we had a very lovely evening.

Great food…breadsticks with alfredo dipping sauce, salad with that special dressing, five cheese ziti and a split lemon cheese cake.

We went and saw The Vow.  Crazy story line…can’t imagine losing my memory and not remembering the person I married.  Based on a true story too.

Now back at  home where the cats are fighting with each other and Izzy is just begging for some attention.

Grey’s Anatomy before bed me thinks!

Published in: on March 6, 2012 at 11:16 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/lack-of-common-courtesy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Ah the old take your kids in public debate! Kaye I have to agree that unruly children and disruptive children are not acceptable at a restaurant. I am very cognizant of my child’s behavior in public because I’m always worried about what other people think.

    However, I must play the devil’s advocate just a little. Children do need to learn how to behave in all types of social situations and the only way to learn is by doing. I’m not going to lie I’ve rolled my eyes a few times even after having my son at a particularly obnoxious child out in a public place. If my son is misbehaving and won’t stop after being asked to then I remove him to the bathroom or outside until he calms dow. If he doesn’t calm down then we leave. I also come armed with a bag full of activities (some people don’t think this is right either. You can’t win.) like his LeapPad, hand held game, coloring book, etc.

    When we take our son to a restaurant it is generally to a family type place like Bertucci’s (his favorite) or the Olive Garden where there are likely to be other children. We also tend to eat out at an earlier hour than most people who are out on a date. This isn’t the case for many families.

    I do know what you’re saying. I’m easily annoyed by unnecessary distractions. I cringe at people talking loudly on cell phones anywhere. Screaming babies at Walmart at 10pm…why aren’t they sleeping? I hate the thought of being the person that other people are annoyed by so I try not to do things like that. I also don’t want my child to be an annoyance to anyone.

    Children are going to grow up and they need to learn how to behave. From a very young age my son has accompanied us almost everywhere. He has flown on long flights with no issues. We have stayed at hotels and eaten at nice restaurants with no complaints. He even had to come to the dentist with me because the babysitter cancelled last minute and he sat in the room with his DVD player while I had my cleaning. He’s not perfect, but issues are handled swiftly and we have left places so as not to disrupt others. I definitely understand your point and I do agree with it to some degree, but not to the extent that people shouldn’t take their children out to eat. If for nothing else because I need a night off from cooking once in a while!

    On another note I want to thank you for recommending These Things Hidden and Violets of March. I loved them both especially the Violets of March which I just finished yesterday. It took me only 3 days to read.

    Hope I am not out of line with my comment. Just trying to throw in the Mom perspective 🙂


Leave a Reply

