A Compliment

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Last night when I came into work I took over an assignment from a nurse who I worked with briefly when I was on the Intermediate Care Floor.  I probably haven’t seen her since last year before Christmas.  But when she saw me she said, “You look really good.  Have you been losing weight?”  I told her that I had been working on losing weight and had lost about 14 pounds, which isn’t THAT much but I thanked her very much for noticing.

But I have to say, that compliment has REALLY stuck with me 🙂

And it has motivated me to keep pushing when I feel very much like things aren’t changing much.

Sometimes when you are in the midst of losing or trying to lose weight, you really don’t realize how much even just 10 pounds is.  It is A LOT of weight to lose.  We are talking two five-pound bags of sugar.  Try carrying that with you everywhere you go all day long and you’ll probably soon see that 10 pounds gone is a GOOD thing.

When I got home, I told Kimm about the compliment and I couldn’t help smiling when I told her…it was just nice remembering that someone thought I was looking good!  And then when I was on the computer, reading some blogs, Madeline (queen cat!) climbed into my lap and started to snuggle…she NEVER does that.  So Kimm took a picture and I asked to see it.  And when I looked at the picture…I could ACTUALLY see that I  have lost weight in my face.  I don’t hate how I look as much as I used to.

And this is a GOOD thing.

So I slept fitfully today and had a hard time waking up (I think it all relates to a frustrating and hurtful experience with a work colleague which is way too much to get into on this blog).

So I was still pretty tired when I woke up and I made dinner and kept thinking…”I REALLY need to get back to the gym…NO EXCUSES.” But of course, I didn’t want to go.

But I ate dinner, relaxed for just a bit, did the dishes, and then, EVEN THOUGH I DIDN’T WANT TO, I went to the gym.

And I had a pretty good workout.  My legs felt like they weighed 100 pounds each, but I just pressed on.

And when I left, I felt GOOD.

To think that I was so  motivated by a simple compliment that I’m sure this person had NO idea how much she made me feel like all my efforts ARE making a difference.  This is why I feel it is so important to really let people know when you think something nice about them.  You have no idea how much a simple recognition could raise their self-esteem.

Now I hope that my motivation does not wane!  I have about 8 pounds to lose until I hit my 10% goal 🙂

Now I’m about to relax and catch up on Parenthood with some snacks…can’t wait!

Published in: on February 28, 2012 at 10:39 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/a-compliment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Compliments are so motivating especially when we know they are genuine like from someone you haven’t seen in a while. 14 pounds is a tremendous weight loss. More importantly is how you lost the weight. You lost it in a healthy consistent manner; no tricks, no pills, no gimmicks. You should give yourself credit for that. I’m so inspired by your weight loss. I’m still forging forward with my weight loss struggle. I refuse to give up though.

    Good for you for going to the gym. Getting out the door is the hardest part usually but once you’re there it feels great.

    I agree about how a simple compliment can really brighten your day. I try to offer kind words especially when I notice a positive change in someone. I had an opposite experience last week at work. My hair is naturally curly though I normally straighten it. Long story short I have been letting it air dry and leaving it curly lately. Someone from a different part of the hospital made a not so nice comment about my hair, not one night but the following night as well. It made me feel horrible. It was an obvious change that made me a little self-conscious anyway, but to have someone say something negative about it made me uncomfortable.

    Keep up the great work! You will lose those next 8 pounds in no time.


Leave a Reply

