A LATE Friend Makin’ Monday…

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

I’ve never done a Friend Makin’ Monday, but I religiously read Aimee’s blog, Amazing in Motion, and she posted it this Monday and I enjoyed reading her answers…and I knew it would make me think about my life (a little self-reflection is GOOD!) … AND it would be nice to connect with other bloggers, so…HERE GOES…

Are you proactive, or do you procrastinate?

Well, when I used to be in school I ALWAYS procrastinated with projects, but never with reading.  I felt accomplished when I read what was assigned, but I think I became neurotic, trying to create the perfect paper that captured my thoughts on a subject.  Call it low self-esteem or fear of failure, but that is the truth.  As far as now, since I’m no longer in school, I would consider myself proactive.  If I have a goal, I try to make a reasonable plan to meet the goal and go after it.  However, I’m still guilty of pushing things over to the next day if I run out of time.

Do you eat breakfast every day?  If so, what is a typical meal like?

Yes, I eat breakfast every day.  I don’t think I could go without it.  I wake up hungry every day and love my breakfast (which is the same every day!)  Breakfast–one cup of Kaluah coffee with 3 Tbsps Southern Buttered Pecan flavored creamer, whole wheat English muffin, toasted, with a bit of Country Crock on both sides, and all-natural peanut butter on one half (approx 1 Tbsp) and Polaner All-Fruit Blueberry Jam (approx 1/2 Tbsp) on the other half.  Makes me hungry just thinking about it!  Fun fact…every night when I go to bed I think, “I can’t wait to get up and eat breakfast!”  It’s my second favorite meal of the day, with dinner being my first!

How much time do you spend watching TV on an average day?

Hmmm…most days probably 45 minutes as I watch some DVD show with dinner every day (currently watching Grey’s Anatomy).  Some days I will also watch a movie on DVD, so those days close to three hours.  But I’m not sure if that really counts…not REALLY TV, but watching DVDs on TV.  As far as actual TV watching, hardly any!  I may watch a bit of HGTV here and there, but mostly just when I’m eating lunch or if a good show is on (for example, For Rent–my fave…so over House Hunters).

Do you talk on the phone, or do you prefer e-mail and/or text messages?

I do talk on the phone, but I really don’t prefer it.  I used to work at a call center and dealing with people on the phone ALL DAY LONG kind of took the fun out of being on the phone with people.  Not to mention, I like quick phone calls and most of the time, I end up on the phone for a long time so I always feel like I have to plan when I call someone (which kind of takes the fun out of it).   I like e-mail sometimes better because writing something out is nice if you want to say something where you can think your thoughts out more…I find that when I’m talking with someone, it’s harder for me to formulate my thoughts, especially if I feel like the person I’m talking to is disagreeing with me…I kind of get a little defensive!  As far as texts…I use them minimally because I find that you can really misread the tone of what the person is saying and it leaves you feeling a bit confused about how someone is really feeling.

Do you exercise in the morning, afternoon, or evening?

I NEVER exercise early morning.  I am NOT a morning person.  I definitely have to eat breakfast first.  I tend to go to the gym either after dinner, or in the afternoon, but I will occasionally go before lunch.  I’m random like that.  I try to take a walk with my dog Izzy the days that I don’t work (I work 7p-7a, so after a day that I work I’m sleeping during the day!).

Do you take time for yourself regularly?

I DO!  I think I’m better able to do this since I don’t have any kids.  Although lots of times, household chores can take up a lot of time.  But usually when my girlfriend Kimm is watching hockey games, I have “ME” time.  I watch a movie I’ve been looking forward to, or read a book.  I also use the time that I wash dishes to do “ME” thinking…thinking about things I want to do to make my life better!

How often do you make your bed?

Well….when the sheets are freshly washed, the bed is made PERFECT!  And that happens about once a month, more frequently in the summer.  Every morning the bed is partially made (sheets and comforter pulled up).  That is good enough for me.

Do you plan meals?  If so, how far in advance?

Yep, I’m a meal planner!  I plan just the dinner meals before I go grocery shopping which is generally every 10-14 days (I work my grocery shopping around my days off) and I generally go to Price Rite (reduced produce/dairy) twice a month and everything else at Stop and Shop (general grocery store).   I only buy stuff that I need for the meals and for breakfast, lunch, snacks.  I don’t just randomly shop the aisles–I ALWAYS have a list.  I don’t like to have an overly full pantry…I feel like it is a waste.  I like to keep our food bill down and I HATE wasting food.  It makes me sad every time I have to get rid of produce that went bad.  I’m finally getting pretty good at getting the proper amount 🙂  I keep a list on the fridge of what we are having that night and it makes it SO easy just looking up there and knowing what I need to prepare for that night!

Do you wake up at the same time every day?

NOPE!  It really all depends.  When I work overnight (7p-7a) I come home, and generally get in bed by 8:30 am.  I will get up again at 4 pm, whether I work the next day or not.  If I do work then I will take a shower, make the dinner meal, eat and get ready for work.  If I don’t work, I still get up and make the meal, but then relax after dinner!  If I’m off, I’m generally in bed by midnight, and then depending on what time I fall asleep, usually by 12:30, I’ll be up by 8:30 or 9:00.  I like to get up earlier, because I feel like I have more time in my day, but I don’t like setting an alarm on my days off!

How often do you brush your teeth?

In the morning when I wake up.  At night before I go to bed.  And generally any time I’m going out of the house.  So it varies from day-to-day.  Sometimes twice, sometimes more!

This was actually fun 🙂

As far as what I did today…spent a lot of time driving on the road.  Kimm and I visited a friend of mine that used to live in the area, but moved about a year ago Northeast, to Leominster, to be closer to her husband’s job (he had a total three-hour commute each work day prior to moving).  Anyways, it was good to see her, but also kind of sad, because she REALLY hates her new house (actually not so new at this point).  She thinks they were sold a lemon since they’ve had to put about $50,000 worth of work into the house so far!!!!  And that hasn’t even been for cosmetic changes.  They had some water flooding in the basement which necessitated installing a perimeter drain and a sump pump.  So no new kitchen or hardwood floors, which was the original intention.  She hates the house so much it is causing tension in her marriage.  So hard to see a friend feeling stuck and unhappy.  It really makes me appreciate what I have.

But the driving…ugh.  One hr and 15 min to get there.  Then TWO hours back.  Would have been less but there was a semi tipped over on the ramp we needed to get on the highway, so we got diverted the opposite direction and had to turn back around…added on about 25 min and then just all the afternoon traffic made it longer.  Was SO glad to be back home!

A classic comfort meal of Kraft Mac n’ Cheese, tator tots (9 each…portion size baby!) and broccoli!  With half a large orange and a bite size Kit Kat for dessert.  Yum!

While Kimm watched her hockey game, I watched another good movie on Netflix–Mao’s Last Dancer.

Can’t wait to  hit the sack!

 

Published in: on February 7, 2012 at 11:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/a-late-friend-makin-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I loved reading your answers too Kaye. I’m so sorry about your friend and all the stress her home is causing. That must be so frustrating. We have been torn between moving for quite some time. We finally decided to stay put because we really feel like the devil you know in our case is better than what we might end up with. Our house needs some updating and is quite small, but the problems seem manageable for us. I hope everything works out with your friend.


Leave a Reply

