Superbowl?

Monday, February 6, 2012

There was a Superbowl yesterday??

JK.  I KNOW there was, I just don’t follow football AT ALL.

However, I did see a very small portion of the Superbowl (half time, and the last minute)…because THE BEST THING HAPPENED…I was CANCELLED!!!!!

FOR MY ENTIRE SHIFT!!!!

I had seen on the schedule when I was in on Saturday that there were 5 nurses scheduled for Sunday night.  So I took a chance and wrote “1st cancel pls” next to the 7-11 and 11-7 portions of my shift.  I never told Kimm because I didn’t want her/me/us to get too excited and then disappointed if it didn’t happen.  Well, I got the first call at 5:15, cancelling me from 7-11 and then I was biting nails wondering if I would get cancelled the whole shift.  When 9:08 hit, I thought “it’s not going to happen.”  When 9:12 hit I thought, “it’s really not going to happen.”  when 9:16 hit I thought, “I hate that place.”  When the phone rang at 9:21 pm and it was the hospital, I was smiling from ear to ear!!  They would only call for one reason…I was cancelled for the remainder of my shift 🙂

With my time off yesterday I watched Love and Other Drugs while Kimm watched the Superbowl.  The movie has been on my “to watch”  list for quite some time and it was really good.  Funny, with a deeper story line and I just love that Anne Hathaway.

Then after the game we watched an episode of Grey’s Anatomy.

This morning I broke my low carb fast.  Stepped on the scale and….GOOD NEWS!  Down 2.8 pounds.  So that makes a total of 13 pounds since the beginning of the year.  So psyched.  I hit my 2.5% goal.  I tried on my smaller pants and they button (still kind of tight, but with another 5-10 pounds gone, they’ll be great).  It was a nice surprise on the scale.  I try not to base all my feelings on what I see on the scale, but I have to say it WAS a good feeling seeing that number.

Breakfast was carb-wonderful 🙂  Coffee with flavored creamer!  English muffin with peanut butter on one half and blueberry jam on the other!

It’s a gorgeous day…50 degrees and sunny.  SO happy I was able to get an extra day off combined with my sweet schedule for the next week.  So this week is now FOUR days off, one day on, and then FOUR more off!  It’s an unofficial vacation 🙂

Sorry, I can’t stop smiling.  I’ve needed this!

Tonight we are off to Kimm’s parents to celebrate her birthday and her dad’s birthday…pizza and cake here I come.

Hope everyone is having an EXCELLENT day!!!

Published in: on February 6, 2012 at 5:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/superbowl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There is no chance of us getting at night on my unit. We are minimally staffed as it is, but that’s ok since I am wages without benefits and don’t get paid if I don’t work. I do understand how refreshing it can be not to have to go in once in awhile especially on the med floors. Glad you enjoyed your night.

    I’m not one for low carb/no carb diets, but I have been following your posts over the last few days. I like the idea of a little kick start every couple of weeks and cutting carbs for a few days on my weekend on might just be the way to go. I’m going to give it a try Kaye. Congratulations on your weight loss! You are really motivating me.

    • I haven’t been cancelled in a long time and since it was going to be a three night weekend, I was perfectly okay with it. But for the most part I don’t like to be cancelled because it eats up at all of my holiday and personal time.
      As far as the low carb goes, I’m with you. I could NEVER do it long term. But I do find that it helps me take away some of the cravings. Although you wouldn’t know it considering how much I was WANTING my coffee with flavored creamer 🙂 But if I can do a couple of days, and it helps, then I am going to do it. I am determined that this is the year…even though I always say that. But I really want it this year. And thank you for your support. Sometimes you really do feel like you are all on your own and it’s tough to keep going. Especially when everyone around you is eating stuff that you deny yourself. But I’m trying to keep the long term goal in mind!


Leave a Reply

