Busy ICU

Friday, January 27, 2012

Wow, last night was crazy busy in the ICU.  There were actually four RNs AND an aide with us overnight…all the rooms were filled!  I don’t think I’ve ever seen that.  I was busy from the moment I started, until the moment I left.  I had two vented patients which makes for a lot of hourly charting with our new computer system.  Every hour I need to chart the following: Hourly Rounds (assessing pain, repositioning, personal care…if needed), vital signs (temp, heart rate, respiratory rate, blood pressure, and oxygen saturation), cardiac monitor (heart rhythm), drug titration (any iv medications that we are possibly titrating, such as blood pressure vasopressors, sedatives), and vent support (vent settings).  On top of that, every two hours is fall risk and neuro assessments, every four hours is cardiac assessment, vent bundle, and every shift is shift assessment and care plan outcomes.  THAT’S just the assessments.  Then I also have to chart patient notes on each patient as needed.  And THAT’S just the charting…we’re not even talking patient care 🙂  Things like repositioning, bathing, tube feeds, emptying foleys, giving medications, starting IVs, drawing blood, …. you get the picture…it can make for a very hectic night!

But, even though it was busy, it wasn’t bad.  My patients were basically stable and I had no admissions AND one of the nicer docs was on so that always makes it nice.

After coming home to bed and sleeping all day I was up and now it’s almost time to go back to bed!  Kimm and I headed out after dinner (taco soup in the Vitamix…mmm!) to the grocery store for a few essentials and to the library to drop off a book that was due.

Now the plan is to watch a movie.

Tomorrow is going to be BUSY too…I have several things that MUST get done…laundry, GYM, and complete the online portion of my CPR training.  My reward is going to be a long overdue Girl’s Night!  Planning on taking cheese and crackers, veggies and dip, and pretzels and hummus.  I will enjoy myself with the food, but I’m going to try to not go crazy.  I still am hoping to go down another pound before the end of the month, and if I’m lucky two pounds!

Have a good night everyone!

Published in: on January 27, 2012 at 10:19 pm  Leave a Comment