The Gift of Life

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Well, last night at work was pretty shitty and amazing all at the same time.

Shitty because I found out that I did not do something properly regarding a nursing technique with the patient I had last night (I can’t go into too much detail but it had to do with a piece of equipment that wasn’t correctly put together).  This made me SO mad for two reasons…one–I felt incompetent as a nurse because another nurse pointed this out to me and acted like I should have known this…and two–because the reason I didn’t know this was because my training in ICU SUCKED!!!  Really makes me so frustrated.  And of course, what do I do when I get frustrated??? Yep, I cry.  I didn’t want to cry, but I did and now I just feel worse because I don’t want to be known as that nurse that cries all the time!!!!  I just think that when it comes down to training in the ICU, you should get more than 3 1/2 weeks.  But on the other hand, I know that I need to take responsibility for my learning too and I guess if I’m going to know anything, I’ll have to do it on my own.  Anyways, I’m over it now.  I’ve learned what I need to know from that night and believe me, I’ll NEVER make that mistake again.

The night was amazing though as well, because I got to actually go into the OR for the harvesting of the organs from the patient that was brain-dead and the family consented to organ donation.  It was truly a miracle to see organs being removed (they were only able to take the liver and kidneys) and preserved, knowing that they were going to be given to someone else who was very sick, so that they would have another chance at life.

All I kept thinking about was Kimm’s father and how he has had his heart for 12 years now and that before he got it, another person had to die and their family had to give consent.  And he functions at a normal level now because of it.

Organ donation truly is the gift of life for many.

I know I’ll never forget my part in caring for this patient so that her organs would be in good condition to give.

And my interactions with the New England Organ Bank have made me even happier to be an organ donor.

Published in: on January 22, 2012 at 7:04 pm  Leave a Comment