A Day You Don’t Expect

Saturday, January 7, 2012

Boy, I’ve just been having those patients that really make me look at my life and appreciate everything I DO have.

Briefly, so as not to go against HIPPA, my patient today, who was a fully functional 80-year-old woman, was driving her car, got in a small car accident, then started complaining of right eye pain and a headache.   She was brought to our hospital and found to have a massive brain bleed.  Neurology was consulted, and even though certain interventions were initiated, it was highly likely that the bleed was going to be fatal.

Can you imagine waking up one day, going for a ride, and then 12 hours later you are intubated and likely never to wake up?  That is definitely a day one doesn’t expect.

In one way, it is the best way to go…you never suffer and you won’t spend your days not knowing yourself in a nursing home.  But it also is quite sad…you think you have all the time in the world to do what you want to do with your life and you just REALLY NEVER KNOW.  You could wake up one day and that is the last day of your life but you don’t know it yet.

I know it makes me very appreciative of every day I DO HAVE and it inspires me to DO what I want to do now and not put it off, because it could be too late.

Anyways, sorry to be so philosophical in the morning.

Now my exhausted self is heading to bed.

 

Published in: on January 7, 2012 at 9:21 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/01/07/a-day-you-dont-expect/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have been thinking about this post all day. I am so sad for your patient. My prayers are with her.

    I have been reminded a few times this weekend just how precious life is and important it is not to take it for granted. I am so blessed to be surrounded by wonderful friends and family and so fortunate to have my health, a good job and few worries in the grand scheme of things.

    On the eve of my first marathon I am reminded why I signed up for it in the first place. For so long I waited – for the right weight, a better body, and a million other reasons. Then one day I stopped waiting and started doing.

    Thanks for sharing this.


Leave a Reply

