Memories…

Monday, January 2, 2012

I’m thinking today about memories because I had a patient last night who had sudden onset confusion and could not remember what happened to him in the last 24 hours, namely why he was in the hospital.  Basically he kept repeating the same phrase, “I’m embarrassed to say I don’t know why I’m here.”

And that got me to thinking about how important memory is.  Who would we be without our memories?  Our memories allow us to relive the happiness of the past.  I’m so grateful that I have my memories because they make me who I am.  And even remembering the day-to-day mundane things gives me a sense of calm and serenity.

I really hope that my patient finds out today what has caused all of his confusion and even more so, I hope that he can start remembering what is happening to him moment to moment.

Here’s to creating lasting, beautiful memories every day this year.

And now I’m heading to bed.  I think my busy day yesterday caught up with me this morning.   I had to take a No-Doze at 5 am which did help keep me going the last few hours of my shift but now the eyes are feeling heavy.

I’m on one more night and then three off…CAN’T WAIT!

Published in: on January 2, 2012 at 8:59 am  Leave a Comment