One Thing

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Isn’t it funny how just one little thing can build you up or break you down?

I worked last night.  It was very busy and I wasn’t feeling very well myself (a head cold).

We were short-staffed (when aren’t we?)–our monitor watcher was a sitter, and each of the two scheduled nurses had to take turns being a monitor watcher in between being a nurse and an aide.  Oh yeah, and I got an ICU admission during it all.

Without divulging too much information, this patient had to have a triple lumen catheter inserted because she had poor IV access.  So the doctor did it with the help of the ultrasound machine from the OR.

Flash forward to this morning…the anesthesiologist from the OR comes into ICU and asks who used the ultrasound machine because it was never returned, it was dirty and it was never turned off so the battery died.

SHIT.

I completely forgot about the ultrasound machine.  I was so busy with my patients that I never even remembered what happened to the ultrasound machine.  Obviously the supervisor forgot and the other nurses I was working with as well also didn’t do anything with it.  Neither did the ICU doc or myself.

But now the anesthesiologist is pissed, yelling at the nurses, and walking out saying, “That’s it, no more using the ultrasound machine in the ICU.”

Seriously!

So I immediately went up to talk to one of the supervisors who was in early and told her what happened because I was SURE this was going to come back and bite me in the ass.

I just find it very hard to believe that that doctor had to be so rude.  First of all, the ultrasound machine can be plugged in so it’s not like they could not use it.  Secondly, that machine was clean…I do remember cleaning it!   And then saying that a piece of equipment that the hospital owns can not be used by certain departments…I don’t think he has the authority to do that.   Not to mention there is more than one ultrasound machine in the OR.

But anyways, I did what I could and now we’ll see what happens.  But needless to say, I don’t have the same respect for him that I once did.

And speaking of our supervisors, I get very annoyed when they see (or DON’T see) how busy you are..(.meaning they can’t see how truly busy you are) and then focus on STUPID stuff like having your name as the nurse on the board and turning the stupid clocks in the room to show the next time you will be in to see the patient.  I was in my patients rooms SO MANY more times than once an hour it was ridiculous and yet she still mentioned something to me because the clock was not in the right time.

ARGHH!!!!

I’m getting SO TIRED of my job but I just don’t know what else to do.  I used to have so much patience with people and now I have none.

I hate that about myself.

So see how that one comment by that doctor spiraled me into thinking so negatively.

Ugh.  Time for bed and another day tomorrow.

 

Published in: on December 14, 2011 at 9:23 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/one-thing-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I wish I had the right words to say to this post. I read it with such an uncomfortable familiar feeling, one that I haven’t felt in a long time about my job. I am sorry that you are feeling this way Kaye. You are absolutely justified in how you’re feeling. I just hate to see yet another wonderful nurse feeling horrible about themselves and their job because of the miserable doctors and managers who think nothing of treating the nurses and other staff like crap. It’s sickening.

    I was called to a code assist recently and walked away absolutely disgusted by the inappropriateness of a nurse and the hospitalist. I normally leave my job behind the locked doors when I go home but I took this experience home with me.

    I hope your next night on is better. Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

