Preparations

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Busy day today!

But…I liked it!   I love that I am able to bring some dishes to share for Thanksgiving.

My contributions this year…

…glazed carrots (with carrots from our own garden–we had taken the garden out on Sunday and there were a few carrots left!)

…cranberries

…apple pie

…chocolate chip zucchini bread

I started with the apple pie because I made it ENTIRELY from scratch, even the crust.  I felt very accomplished.  The pie crust actually rolled out pretty good which I was so happy with.  It smelled so good when it was baking! (**edited to add…the pie was OKAY…not the best I ever ate…the crust was a bit flavorless in my opinion and the filling was a bit too tart…I will have to try again next year to improve!!)

Cranberries are easy peasy…1 cup water, 1 cup sugar–bring to boil, then add the bag of cranberries and bring back to a boil for about 10 minutes…that’s it!  Love the tart/sweet combo.  I bring this every year.

I absolutely loved the brown sugar/butter glaze I made for the carrots…again…so easy…2 tablespoons butter and 1/3 cup brown sugar, melted together…add one and a half pounds cooked carrots…stir to cover and then cook about 5 minutes in saucepan, salt to taste.  Mmmm!

The chocolate chip zucchini bread was a last-minute thing since I had bought some zucchini a while back and it was on its last leg (but still good enough to be grated for the bread). We love this bread so it was a nice treat.

It took all day, but I was so happy with getting it all done!

I just love cooking and baking 🙂

Now I can’t wait to eat tomorrow!!

Published in: on November 23, 2011 at 7:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/preparations/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

