Back to the grind.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Okay it is pretty damn scary that we are already 1/3 of the way through this month.

Only 15 days until Thanksgiving.

Ugh.

Today I felt like I had so much I wanted to do.  So much I had to do.

That I got a little overwhelmed.  I didn’t know where to start.

So I did what I do best…I wrote a list and then I did the dishes!

This may not make much sense to many people reading this blog but whenever I get angry or stressed or anxious I just want to DO something that allows me to think at the same time and doing the dishes always seems to calm me down.

After doing the dishes and cleaning off the kitchen counter (how does it keep accumulating stuff??), sweeping the floor, cleaning the litter box, sweeping the bathroom floor and emptying the recyclables I felt more focused.  More able to attack my day.

And I think I got a bunch done.

–I actually studied for almost an hour (wow…I’ve been meaning to do even just 15 minutes a day…this felt great although there is always so much information…in order to feel like I learned something I told myself I had to remember 5 things and write them down…I did this instead of taking notes and it made me actually remember better…I’d rather REALLY learn 5 things a day than just rewrite words)

–I caught up on a portion of blogs…this is going to be ongoing since regaining power

–I finally set up my new iphone…it was a bigger pain than expected since not all the apps transferred and then when I finally figured out how to they were not in the appropriate folders anymore…spent at least two hours getting that set up but at least the speed and clarity of the phone made me happy enough to soon forget all that!

–we took Izzy on a walk…poor pooch…she hasn’t had a walk since mid-October

–we cleaned mold off the bead board from the bathroom

–I worked on my Christmas list

–I made lunch (whole wheat English muffins with tomato and American cheese toasted and finished under the broiler) and dinner (simple…Kraft mac and cheese with broccoli on the side and apple and peanut butter for dessert)

–and I wrote this blog..this is a BIG deal since I have fallen off the blog wagon

Of course I didn’t finish EVERYTHING on my list (I always put too much on it!) but at least I feel accomplished with what I did get done.  There is always tomorrow.

In a few minutes we are going to relax and finish the night with some popcorn and TV.  Then off to bed since the plumber will be here early again and my alarm clock will be set for 7:30 am.

I have another packed list of stuff to do tomorrow but I finally feel like I’m getting back in the groove.

And it feels good.

Published in: on November 9, 2011 at 11:24 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/back-to-the-grind-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

