Relieved

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Back in ICU last night.

I was completely surprised when I walked in and the doctor that I was not expecting to be in was there.  He is the one that I felt was mean/rude to me last time he was on so believe me, I was a bit nervous when I saw him.

But then I thought to myself…why should I be nervous??  I’m just trying to do my job and in a professional way.

I managed to get through the night without having to call him which made me happy but I tried to keep boosting my self-esteem by saying positive thoughts to myself.

I WISH I could learn to stick up for myself better.  I just HATE controversy and wish the relationships between the nurses and doctors was more of a team effort.

Management asked me to stay an extra four hours because someone called in sick, but I declined.  I don’t think I could have handled being with that doctor during the day.  Oh well.

I was just relieved to get through my shift and also so happy to be starting a three-day stretch off!

It’s been a while since that has happened and I really need it.

So what did I do on my first night off?

Made pizza, read blogs, watched Survivor online, and generally enjoyed myself.

I’d say it was quite a success 🙂

Published in: on November 8, 2011 at 10:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/11/08/relieved/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I grew up to believe that doctors warranted respect much like any grown up but more so because they were a doctor. I am polite and respectful still when communicating with doctors at work. I always refer to them as doctor so and so even if everyone else calls them by their first name. I don’t argue and rarely disagree with a doctor. Yet why is it that many doctors find it so easy to be flippant, rude and disparaging to nurses? I was recently reprimanded by one of our overnight on call doctors that my call for admission orders on a patient could have waited until closer to morning. I apologized! I shouldn’t have because I was doing my job. I totally understand how you feel.


Leave a Reply

