One of THE WORST nights…

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Let’s just say I didn’t get home until about 10 am.   And I DID NOT volunteer for overtime.  That was just finishing up my work from  my normal shift.

I don’t really want to talk about it too much.  I tried to review the night and figure out HOW I could have possibly have made it out earlier, but I can’t come up with anything.  When you have two nurses, 2 ICU patients, 5 IMC patients, no aide, changing assignments, an admission, a death, multiple family members, and lots of poop…I will tell you that you also will not be able to chart properly “as you go” and you will have to do it all after your shift when your eyes feel like sandpaper and if one more person says to you “aren’t you here late?”–you WILL cry.  In fact you will cry on the way home.  And then you will vent.  And then you will go to sleep for a nap, because at that point, it is no longer going to be enough to properly prepare you for another 12 hour night.

You will dread the upcoming shift.

You will bring No-Doze.

You will say to yourself, “It’s only 12 hours…I can do anything for 12 hours.”

And then you will hope that your second night will not be as horrible as the night you just had.

 

Published in: on October 20, 2011 at 4:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/one-of-the-worst-nights/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

