New York City!

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Whew!  What a day!

We did New York!

The train ride went fine…we got there in plenty of time.  The worst part was standing outside in the COLD before the train came…no station at Windsor Locks…just a platform.  I feel bad for those commuters come winter time!

I pretty much slept the whole ride there…the movement of the train lulled me into slumber…it didn’t hurt that I didn’t get much sleep the night before!

We arrived at…

It took me about 1/2 hour to get the return ticket situation figured out.  I kind of feel like we wasted those minutes!  But now I know for the future…if you are going to take Amtrak…get your tickets well in advance!

Once we exited Penn Station we were in the hustle and bustle of New York City.  The last time I was there was back in high school for a senior trip.  But somehow you never forget the sights and sounds of New York.

We walked about 8 blocks to the CitySights building to hop on the tour bus…

Tall buildings GALORE!  Absolutely loved all the intricate and unique architecture.

We got off to see the Empire State Building (of course the only picture I got on the bus had this huge street light in the picture!)

Views from the top…the large stretch of green is Central Park

And there is the Statue of Liberty.

Mom and Dad.

I have only one word for the ESB–crowded.  Way too touristy for me!

On the bus again…on the way to our cruise.

Funny thing about that cruise.  We got off on the right stop…but we COULD NOT find the place to board our cruise before the last boarding time.  I was SO frustrated.  Bye, bye $54.

But I got over it quick because what else was I going to do?

So instead we ate.  Pizza.  Here…

Then we headed to Ground Zero and the 9/11 memorial.

Words cannot describe how I felt there.  All I can think to sum it up is “peaceful.”

After Ground Zero it was back to the train station…we took the subway and it wasn’t that bad.  See even Mom and Dad are smiling 🙂

We ate at Penn Station and caught our train home in plenty of time.  Again I slept on the way home!

After driving my parents back to the hotel and then myself back home I crawled into bed myself.  I was TIRED, even with all my cat naps on the train.  There’s no place like home.

It almost felt surreal that I had been in New York that day.

I told Kimm that now that I was able to navigate getting there we would definitely have to take advantage and try to get up there at least once a year.   I would love to explore a museum or go to a show or check out some of the good eats.  We’re too close NOT to go!

Published in: on October 7, 2011 at 11:01 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/new-york-city/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

