No Big E

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Well, no Big E for us this year.

Today was the last time we could have made it, and the weather was pretty undesirable–rainy and humid.  So we decided not to go.

This is the first time in a while that we have not gone.  And I have to say, it feels kind of strange.

But also okay.  I mean, the Big E does not change from year to year and THERE ARE ALL THOSE FOOD TEMPTATIONS.

Definitely not something I need.

I’m sure we’ll hit it up next year.

Last night at work felt rough.  I had IMC overflow patients (4 of them) with no aide so it was BUSY.  I don’t always mind busy, but last night just felt non-stop.  And I got out late.  And of course I didn’t get paid for it.  So frustrating.  I was telling Kimm that I have to learn a way to get more done, in less time.  I think this is the most difficult part of nursing.  I don’t mind patient care.   It’s the charting that will drive you crazy.  Sometimes when I am in a patient’s room I find myself thinking…if only I could chart what I am doing AS I am doing it!  Then I would never feel behind.  Doctors who can dictate their notes are so lucky.  I hate writing everything out.

Another one of my frustrations at work is that I NEVER take a break (like a real break)–in all my four years of nursing it has been EXTREMELY rare for me to go off the floor and take time for me.  And then I get frustrated/jealous when others do (especially the smokers).

I really think that I am BURNT out a bit.

So I was thinking of ways that I can remedy this solution.

Here are my goals for my next two days of working:

1) Take breaks–I am allowed two 15-minute breaks and one 1/2 lunch break–I need to take these

2) Chart more concisely–this will be hard for me because I always want to include EVERYTHING–but then I realized that it is so much easier to read notes that are problem focused and less wordy–working on this really will be work for me…but I think in the long run it will be a huge time and stress saver.

That’s all…now I’m going to enjoy watching one of our new favorite fall programs…Prime Suspect!

Published in: on September 29, 2011 at 9:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/no-big-e/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

