My Very First Massage

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Tonight I had my very first massage!

It was WONDERFUL.

What was really nice was that the person came right to my house.  Very convenient.

Background:  My left upper back, between my shoulder blades has been feeling very tight for quite a while lately.  I’m not sure if it’s because of all the heavy lifting I do at work, or if I just naturally carry stress in that area, but it feels like a ball of fire, literally.  After complaining about it for a while, Kimm suggested I get a massage.

Well, I’m not one to really spend money on massages.  I’ve never done that.  I kind of feel like it is frivolous, an indulgence.   But for once, I listened.  I was willing to give it a try.

While she was massaging my back I could definitely feel the tightness/soreness over my tight areas.

After she left, I took a hot shower (to get rid of all the oil used) and honestly I still feel a little tense in my back.

I’ll be interested to see what it feels like in the morning.

But, even if just for the glorious feeling of having someone else massage you, it was worth the money 🙂

Good news today!!

I weighed myself (remember I’m back to weighing myself weekly)…

…and I lost 3.2 pounds this week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (can you tell I’m excited!)

This brings my total weight loss since April 1, to 20.2 pounds.  It doesn’t sound like a lot for 5 and 1/2 months, but I’ll take it!

I’m at my new low since starting in April.  And only 4.8 pounds from my goal weight by the end of October for the wedding.  I am starting to think that it is TOTALLY do-able 🙂

(BTW…Kimm lost 1.6 pounds…boo-yah!)

My celebration took the form of having some coffee (I’ve pretty much given it up since it upsets my stomach so much…but it was a nice treat this morning) and going grocery shopping (I LOVE to grocery shop…I just wish things weren’t so expensive!).

The haul:

apples (Red Delicious and Granny Smith)

pears

tomatoes

zucchini (for zucchini grinders and chocolate chip zucchini bread)

banana chips (a new buy)

salted pumpkin seeds (a new buy)

Nutella (a new buy)

cilantro

basil

lime

cucumbers

Italian bread (freshly baked for soup tonight)

whole wheat English muffins

yellow corn taco shells

coconut milk

frozen strawberries

raspberries (a treat!)

raspberry sorbet

brown rice

whole wheat rolls

white American cheese

jelly (raspberry and blueberry)

pizza sauce

pizza dough

spaghetti

bananas

chocolate chips (for the zucchini bread)

mushrooms

potato and cheese pierogies

And I think that might be it…I did it all from my head so I’m not sure.

I just LOVE having a pantry/fridge/freezer full of good for you food. I have to say I am feeling so much better now that I’m eating better!

I think I’m going to relax…back to work tomorrow…two on, one off, one on, one off, one on, then three off.  It’s going to be interesting…

Published in: on September 15, 2011 at 9:25 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/09/15/my-very-first-massage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I haven’t had a massage in ages. It is a nice treat once in a while. Congratulations on the weight loss! That is fantastic that you are almost to your goal. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

