Chunky Monkey Oatmeal

Sunday, September 4, 2011

My first day back to work…done.

Just like riding a bicycle…you never forget.

It was a busy one and I’m glad to be home.

Now that the cooler weather is here I thought I would share with you a few of my favorite oatmeal recipes.

First up…

Chunky Monkey Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

1/3 cup water

pinch of salt

1/2 ripe banana

1/4 cup walnuts

1 tbsp pure maple syrup

Directions:

Combine oats, water and salt in a microwavable dish.  Cook for one minute.

Add in banana and stir until banana is incorporated with oatmeal.

Add walnuts and syrup.

Note:  I like a thicker oatmeal so I use a 1:1 ratio of oatmeal to water, but if you like yours thinner, add more water (the oatmeal container suggests a 1:2 ratio of oatmeal to water)

I usually wait for about 5 minutes for my oats to cool a bit (I don’t like them steaming hot!) and then I mix it all together.

It tastes so delicious–creamy, with hearty chunks of walnuts and a mild sweetness that is not to overwhelming from the maple syrup.

I have had this oatmeal every day this week 🙂  It’s that good. (but do you think I would have taken a picture?? sorry!)

Taste bud teaser–Peanut Butter and Jelly Oatmeal on board for next week!

Published in: on September 4, 2011 at 11:28 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/chunky-monkey-oatmeal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] 2011 — 5 years ago…Chunky Monkey Oatmeal […]


Leave a Reply

