Quinoa with Black Beans, Corn and Tomato

**post-dated for Thursday, September 1, 2011

The scale was not nice my friends, not nice at all.

But I did expect it.

I didn’t go to the gym AT ALL last month.

I probably walked Izzy less than 10 times.

I ate more than I needed to, especially this last week.

So the scale was up almost 5 pounds.

But I’m not giving up.  I’m not back to where I was.  I’m still moving forward.

Today I made a healthy meal…my first ever with quinoa.  It was different, but good.

I adapted the recipe from one on allrecipes that good a good rating.

Quinoa with Black Beans, Corn and Tomato

Ingredients:

1 tsp vegetable oil

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

3/4 cup uncooked quinoa

1 and 1/2 cups vegetable broth

1 tsp ground cumin

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup frozen corn kernels

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 tomato, seeded and chopped

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

Heat the oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat.

Stir in onion and garlic and saute until lightly browned and aromatic.

Mix quinoa into the sauce pan and cover with vegetable broth.

Add cumin, salt and pepper.

Bring the mixture to a boil.

Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Stir in frozen corn and continue simmering 5 minutes.

Mix in the black beans, tomato, and cilantro.

Enjoy!

(this picture is without tomatoes…we added those in after the fact…made it SO much better!)

It felt good to eat good again.

We went shopping today–got three fall Yankee Candle scents (Harvest, MacIntosh, and Buttercream) and we bought season 2 of Parenthood!

Published in: on September 2, 2011 at 8:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/quinoa-with-black-beans-corn-and-tomato/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

