Hunkered Down

**post-dated for Sunday, August 28, 2011

Oh little blog, I have abandoned you this week of vacation, haven’t I?

I have to admit it was kind of nice not feeling like I HAD to blog every day.

But now that I haven’t blogged for almost a week, I realize that I still do like to be able to have a glimpse into my life, no matter how brief.

Reality:  I have a BAD memory.

I find it hard to remember things that happened even a few days back.  So how am I going to remember what happened a whole YEAR ago?

THAT is why I love keeping a blog.

Not for anyone else but me.

So now…back to my boring life.

When I last stopped blogging, we were anticipating Hurricane Irene.

Well…it was a big let down.

But I’m not complaining.

We basically spent Sunday hunkered down in our house, waiting for the huge storm…which NEVER happened.

It did get very windy late Saturday night/early Sunday morning and I remember not being able to sleep very well at all (I guess subconsciously I WAS worried!).

I was so relieved that Izzy was fine.  She never even hid under the bed.  We got up, I took her outside, she did her business, wasn’t even freaked out!

We just relaxed all day. We never lost power.

It stopped raining by noon but the wind kept up all night.  But it was that tropical breeze that just felt so peaceful, even though it was strong.

When we woke up the next morning, it was back to normal.

But we were lucky.  Some of the surrounding areas did lose power and did have flooding and damage due to fallen trees.

A lot of people on Facebook were saying that they were “disappointed” that Hurricane Irene didn’t do more, with all the build-up.

Not me.  I was perfectly happy knowing that my little family was safe.

Published in: on September 2, 2011 at 11:06 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/hunkered-down/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

