12 hours in the ER…

*post-dated for Sunday, August 7, 2011

…working that is!

Yep, I was floated to the Emergency Room for my full shift.

And now the doctor that was on even knows me by name!

Over time I’m slowly becoming more acclimated to the ER and don’t mind going as much.

I think it is all a mental thing.

–not receiving proper training

–never being officially “asked” if I wanted to go to the ER

–knowing that plenty of other nurses are not floated there because they have never been trained on the computer system

–not feeling completely “at home” there–I miss my ICU

–not knowing the co-workers as well (although that is changing)

Oh well, I guess I’d better just get used to it since it doesn’t seem like it will change any time soon.

After working I promptly fell into bed and asleep.  I set my alarm for 4 pm but turned it off and didn’t get up until 4:45 pm.

A quick dinner and then got ready for game night with Kimm’s parents.  Unfortunately we should have gone over to their house because our house is an OVEN!!!  Seriously, we are having another wicked warm, humid stretch and it is testing us to our limits.

Believe me, we WILL have air conditioning by next year.  Tax money you are already spent 🙂

 

Published in: on August 8, 2011 at 4:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/12-hours-in-the-er-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

