Appreciating the NOW

*post-dated for Sunday, July 10, 2011

I have to admit…I didn’t post anything on my blog last night because I basically had a pretty boring day!  Usually the first day off after working for a few days is like that…I sleep in, get up and eat, and then pretty much relax…which is A-OKAY by me.  In fact, even though I’ve already slept all day, I get tired just relaxing.  Kind of frustrating when you are struggling to stay awake when you’ve already slept away most of your first day off.  In my opinion, this is one of the downsides of working nights…your body is constantly adjusting to the back and forth of sleeping days, then sleeping nights!

So anyways, I did enjoy my night (watched a very funny movie…Just Go With It)–I just wasn’t feeling very inspired to write a post.

But then this morning, after reading Healthy Tipping Point, I DID get inspired!  Her post, Home is Where the Heart Is, really stuck with me.  If you don’t follow her blog, link on over and check it out.  Long story short…a house deal fell apart for her family, which was disappointing, but made her appreciate what she does have now.

As I was reading, I kept thinking, “HOW TRUE!”

There are so many times that I am so intent, focusing on my goals for the future, that I don’t appreciate the present.

For example…

**I’m always thinking about “when I lose weight…”–so I don’t really appreciate the fact that I’ve already lost over 15 pounds and still have been able to enjoy good food every day

**I’m constantly wondering…”will I ever have a baby??”–so I don’t really appreciate the time I have with Kimm and my furry babies

**I often complain about work–instead of realizing how much impact I have on my patient’s lives every day and being happy with the skills I have acquired over the past four years

**I am always thinking of what else needs to be done on the house, and how much money it will cost–I don’t appreciate everything we have done to make our house cozy and comfortable

**I am often jealous of what I see as GOOD LUCK/FORTUNE in other people’s lives and think “why am I so unlucky?”–this prevents me from appreciating all that I do have…shelter, food, love

Sometimes I truly believe that you have to take a step back and really look at what you do have.  It may not seem like much when you are thinking of what you DON’T HAVE, but it is SO MUCH when you think about what is really necessary in life.

So today I am bound and determined to focus on the NOW and appreciate all that I do have 🙂

 

 

 

Published in: on July 11, 2011 at 9:50 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/appreciating-the-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

