Home-made Applesauce

Friday, July 8, 2011

Do you ever get a bunch of apples, just KNOWING that you will eat them all, but then, lo and behold, you look on the counter and see about 1/2 a dozen apples that are getting kind of soft and you know that you won’t eat them anymore??

No?

Must just be me then!

However, I have learned my lesson, especially during summer…keep all but two apples in the fridge so that they last longer.  When you eat the two in the bowl, then transfer out two more apples.

However, if you get a bunch of apples from someone (thank you Kimm’s mom!) and then you don’t eat them, make this applesauce…seriously really the best I’ve had.

I was a bit hesitant to use since it called for cloves.  But it really amped up the taste, although next time I think I would use just a smidge less.

My adapted recipe from allrecipes…although I don’t think there is really much to an applesauce recipe 🙂  But not everyone would think of making it!  I felt like I utilized something that I would have otherwise thrown away.  I HATE to waste food.

Home-made Applesauce

6 cups peeled and chopped apples

3/4 cup water

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground cloves (next time I would use 1/2 this amount)

1/4 cup white sugar

Place chopped apples in a medium-sized pan.  Add spices and water.  Simmer over medium-low heat for 10 minutes (apples will begin to break down).  Add sugar and continue to simmer for 5 more minutes.  Take off heat and serve either warm or place in fridge and serve cold.

Well, I’m about to hop in the shower…got to get ready for work!  Two more on and then finally THREE off 🙂  Enjoy the weekend everyone.

Published in: on July 8, 2011 at 4:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/home-made-applesauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

