One

Friday, June 3, 2011

I made it through my long night.

The ventilator class was very informative.  I’m glad I went even though by 2:30 am I was feeling it.  No-Doze to the rescue!  Seriously, one little pill (200 mg caffeine) give me a jolt of energy I cannot get from a cup of coffee.  I was able to power through the rest of the night.

And what a night it was.  We had a total of ONE patient in the ICU.  But even with just one patient, they always have to have two nurses since the location is so remote from the rest of the hospital.  So I was there, and I didn’t even have a patient!  I spent the first 4 hours of my shift in the ER–they were slamming.  Then in ICU for 8 hours.

The good thing was that the one patient had a Swan-Ganz catheter (pulmonary artery catheter) which I’ve never seen before so it was a complete learning experience.  And then I spent A LOT of time cleaning up and organizing.  Let me just tell you…nurses are SLOBS!!!  Not me of course!

Was so happy to get home and hit the sack.

Slept all day and then was able to take a great walk with Kimm and Izzy.  Seriously love this weather.

Then Kimm got ready for a Jack and Jill and I had the house to myself!  It felt strange to be here by myself.  But I had a nice, relaxing evening…

–talked with my parents

–watched an episode of Lost

–did some cross-stitching

Now I’m pooped and ready for bed.

Published in: on June 4, 2011 at 12:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

