A Sweet Treat

**postdated for Saturday, April 2, 2011

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like the feeling of  “feeling deprived.”

And usually when people decide to EAT BETTER, they cut out everything that tastes good and become so restrictive that it is hard to maintain and then you eventually break and want to eat EVERYTHING that you have been deprived of and then you feel like a failure and say, why do I even bother with trying to do better, now where’s that ice cream?

It just becomes a vicious cycle of good eating/not so good eating.

Not like I would know or anything 🙂

So, this time around, I decided to be a little bit smarter.

I KNOW that I like to have something sweet to end my evening meals with.  If I don’t have something, I feel like the meal is not over and I keep thinking I need to eat more.

So on Friday morning I searched through some of my blogs for a sweet treat that I could make with ingredients that were REAL (hate that processed junk).  I found this recipe for Baklava Thumbprint Cookies on Daily Garnish (love that blog!) .  They sounded (and looked) good and thankfully I had all the ingredients on hand!

The cookies were easy to make and VERY tasty (and they made a bunch–I think about 32).

Kimm and I have been enjoying one for dessert every night and I have to say they are great and I NEVER feel deprived.

Yay for sweet treats that are made with ingredients I can actually pronounce.

One night of work down and one more to go.

Published in: on April 4, 2011 at 11:21 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kayevs.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/a-sweet-treat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

