Gluttons for Punishment

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

It was a busy day for us today.

We primed the ceiling of our porch.  Let me just say…I don’t particularly like painting when you have to continuously look upward.  Tends to give you a neck ache!

It took us about 45 minutes to prep the room (take out the bistro set, the plants, the decorative items, and put everything else in one spot covered with plastic) and another 45 minutes to actually paint the primer on.

Not too bad me thinks.

Of course I forget to mention that it was so FREAKIN’ hot.  I mean, sweat was running down my legs.  Getting into my eyes.  My glasses would hardly stay on my face.  So it was a long 45 minutes.

But we did it.

It looks so much better, even before painting the actual color.  The only thing that I’m not too fond of is that the little slats are kind of uneven and therefore it doesn’t look 100% great.  Maybe some caulking would have helped.  But it would have taken FOREVER to do that since there are about 200 “in between” the slat areas that would have needed attention.  I just have to keep reminding myself that it is only the porch.  No one will be staring at the ceiling.  In a few weeks, I won’t even remember me thinking about it.

This too shall pass.

I guess it’s just the perfectionist in me.

We were hoping to get the paint on today as well but with the hot, humid weather, the primer did not dry in the one hour that it said it would and by the time it was done drying, it was too dark to paint.

So we will attack that tomorrow.

Fun, fun.

I can’t wait to sweat that much again.  Who needs a sauna 🙂

Hope everyone is having a great week!

Published in: on July 21, 2010 at 10:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

Only one more day left!

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Until my vacation that is!

I have off Wednesday and Thursday, work Friday and then have off for NINE days 🙂

I can’t wait.

Tomorrow Kimm and I are planning on priming and painting the ceiling on the porch before our new ceiling fan gets installed.  Hopefully it won’t be too hot.

We went for a drive tonight and it was so peaceful and relaxing.  Izzy loved it too!  The weather actually cooled down a bit and there was a delightful breeze.  So nice to just drive around and look at houses and see areas you haven’t seen before.  And of course I saw a lot of ice cream stands, but we are being good so none for us!

Just about ready for bed.  The eyes are slowly closing.

Published in: on July 21, 2010 at 12:31 am  Leave a Comment