Over the Rainbow…

Saturday, July 17, 2010

There was a gorgeous rainbow outside tonight.  Kimm caught it all on camera 🙂

It was actually a double rainbow.  I haven’t seen rainbows in like, forever.  I like rainbows!

I snuck outside to take a look and went barefoot.  Ow!  Our walkway is not barefoot-friendly!  I went over to the grass…double ow!  Also not barefoot-friendly!!  My feet must be extra sensitive.  I remember as a little kid running around barefoot ALL THE TIME.  I guess I’m not a kid anymore 🙂

Made it to the gym for a great workout!  We were both sweaty when we were done.  Home to shower and to eat this…

I made the recipe up.  SO GOOD.  Definitely will be at least a weekly dish around here in the summertime.

Make this.  You will be very happy.

It is super simple.

Simple recipe:

1 can black beans, rinsed

about 1 cup frozen corn, cooked for about 3 minutes

1 small onion, diced

1/2 red pepper, diced

1 small tomato, diced

handful of cilantro, chopped finely

dressing–

approx 1/3 cup olive oil

juice of one lime

hefty pinch of cumin

salt and pepper to taste

–shake dressing well in covered jar or mix well in small bowl–pour over mixture and stir well–makes two good servings–top each serving with 1/2 avocado, diced–rub tummy and say YUMMM…it’s THAT GOOD!!

Then I whipped this up…

Our apples were kind of getting soft.  Our fault.  With all this heat, we should have kept them in the fridge.  But what’s the harm in an apple crisp.

I made this recipe up too.   What’s up with me creating all these recipes lately??  I’m a kitchen goddess I guess 🙂

Another simple recipe:

8 apples, peeled and sliced

4 large spoonfuls sugar

zest and juice of one lemon

ground cinnamon–couple of good shakes

–place apples in 8×8 glass pan–cover with sugar, zest, juice of lemon and cinnamon–mix well–cover with topping

topping:

approx 1 cup oatmeal (I used the rest of what we had…didn’t measure it!)

approx 1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 stick butter

–cut the butter into the oats and sugar until well combined–cover apples completely–bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 30 minutes–enjoy–best with ice cream but we are trying to be good and so had to enjoy on its own–it’s still good, just not GOOD–ice cream is the bomb!

So back up to yesterday.

Here are our new sneakers.

Hers (Kimm)…

and hers (mine)…

We wore them on our walk this morning and at the gym and we were both mighty pleased.  No pain in the ankle for me like the last pair I bought and have not been able to wear.  So maybe it will be Nikes for me in the future.  They definitely have a flatter arch which helps.

And our bedroom…

Geometric…

Double geometric…

All together now…

I’ve never realized how difficult it is to take good “room” shots until today.  I kept shooting the camera hoping that the next shot would look like a catalog picture…but nope!  I guess that’s why there are professional retouchers 🙂

Anyways.  We LOVED sleeping in our new bedding last night.  So comfortable.  The sheets were so silky smooth!  Love that feeling.

We’re going to watch a movie tonight…Along Came Polly.  Hope it’s good.

Can’t believe this is my last night off.

But…

only THREE more working days until my first vacation!!!

Can you tell I’m excited 🙂

Published in: on July 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm  Comments (1)