Dentist, Rain, and Friday Favorites #9

Friday, July 20, 2012

It simply amazes me that this month is 2/3 of the way over.  Summer is sneaking by!

Up early this morning for my 6 month dental cleaning.  Why does it always seem like time is moving so slowly, until you have to go for your dental cleaning??

It is raining cats and dogs today…which is good…we NEED the rain.

Perfect day to do NOT MUCH :)

I foresee a nap this afternoon!

Favorites this week…

I’ve been posting inspirational articles from this website practically every week since I started doing Friday Favorites and I have to say, it is one of my favorite blogs.  Marc and Angel Hack Life: Practical Tips for Productive Living ALWAYS seems to have a post that strikes home with me.  They boost me up when I’m feeling down and give me that extra something when I’m feeling up.  I’m not sure how I stumbled upon their blog, but now it is definitely a fave.

Here are some of my favorite posts from this week…

12 Happy Thoughts for Troubled Times

5 Character Traits That Make You Happy

10 Toxic Personalities Living Inside of You

 

Favorite Peanut Butter recipe!  Tell me this doesn’t look delish!

Peanut Butter Cup Pie

 

Favorite craft “I want to do”

LOVE this Pinterest-inspired Starburst Flatware Mirror

 

Favorite, “oh my god that is SO true” article

Why Is It Hard To Make Friends Over 30?

Favorite Salad

Cheese Tortellini Salad!

 

Favorite non-profit

Caitlyn of Healthy Tipping Point featured this wonderful story of Jessica who started Headbands of Hope, a charity designed to help little girls with cancer feel pretty while at the same time earning money to fight this horrible disease…what an awesome thing for a young person to do!

 

Favorite hot weather sip!

Pina Colada Smoothies

 

Favorite commentary…

Caitlyn of Healthy Tipping Point wrote a very compelling argument about parenting.  Basically her argument is that it is very distracting to focus on “who is a better parent…or why certain parenting styles are better/worse” instead of focusing on the social institutions that make parenting difficult…for example, lack of paid time off for new parents, lack of quality daycare, and unequal pay rates for women.  Well written and deserves a read…great feedback in the comments as well.

Cease Fire: The Mommy Wars

Whew…and some favorite funnies after all that deep stuff!

 

 

 

Favorite tip…always wanted a central site for this information…never let food go to waste again…How to Freeze Anything!

 

Favorite ways to start over…loved this post, 10 Ways to Start Fresh, regarding how to get out of a funk…ESPECIALLY when it hits mid-day, you don’t want to ruin your whole day…these are perfect ways to turn your day around.

Favorite truths

 

It’s time for my nap…have a great weekend everyone!

 

 

Published in: on July 20, 2012 at 1:52 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://kayevs.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/dentist-rain-and-friday-favorites-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love these posts Kaye! My coworker and I were just having a conversation about how difficult it can be making friends at our age. Then I read that same article. It couldn’t be more true. Kind of sad though.

    Caitlyn wrote a well thought out piece on the Mommy Wars. I have experienced judgment from other moms for having a C-section, not breast feeding, even for ridiculous things like my son climbing up a slide?! Parenting is tough enough. Mothers shouldn’t be so hard on other mothers.

    I’m all about the piña colada flavors this summer. I’ve been making lots of pineapple smoothies.
    Peanut butter cup pie :)
    Hope you have a nice weekend!

    • Thanks Aimee! I like doing them too, although they are definitely more time-consuming than a regular post :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

